He Did Visit Me

March 5, 2012 – Gyumri, Week 6
He Did Visit Me

Family and Friends ,
We have received some instruction. I am not permitted to write anyone outside of my family over the internet (This is to help us maintain better focus on the work). But, I would love to hand-write letters. In fact I have been wanting to. If you would like to read these weekly emails you can read them on https://armeniamission.wordpress.com/

I have been finding a balance in my studies. Something that can be a struggle at times. The spirit’s guidance has been such a blessing. The revelation that he has given me during planning, praying and accountability each night has been tremendous. I try very hard to avoid contention and sometimes that creates contention within myself which can drive the Holy Ghost’s influence away. In humbling myself I have been able to recieve his guidance in resolving contentions or inbalances in our companionship. Before my mission I thought that humility was one of my strengths. In some ways it was. But, I have learned that there is a huge difference between humility before men and humility before God. I know that the Lord is and will continue to teach me humility. In pondering this subject I have learned that I may have chosen/asked for asthma in the pre-existance as a way to humble me throughout my earth-life. I may have known that I needed to be humbled both physically and spiritually.

This oppurtunity to train has been a humbling experience too. I have had to humble myself more then ever, in order to teach and correct with the love the Elder Connor needs. He is doing great. He has changed so much and made many sacrifices in order to come on a mission. He is still trying to make those changes that will bring him into a greater harmony with the spirit. He is very teachable and diligent in accomplishing a task that he is given.

I have had somewhat of a worry. However I feel that “worry” is not the right word. A better way to say it is, I have been very aware of a potential danger. The concern is that the spirit isn’t working with our investigators as much as he could. I have been praying and studying fervently for his influence in the work, especially with the investigators. I thought I was doing something wrong, but yesterday the Lord answered my prayer quite clearly he showed me. It was amazing and very humbling. Our investigators that we have had high hopes for were under the influence of the spirit and so were we. There was an energy in our lessons, a light to our understandings. Gevorg bore his testimony at church about how God led him and the missionaries to the same place, He said that he would like to be baptized on the 24th of this month. Hovsep, an 11 year old boy, understood the key doctrines to the Plan of Salvation and the Spirit guided the whole lesson and helped Elder Connor speak the clearest Armenian that I have heard him speak. Moris has decided to skip soccor practice in order to attend church next week. I was so thankful for the spirit. Without the spirit in our lives we are nothing.

I was studying in 1 Nephi chapter 2, where Nephi prays to know whether his father was speaking the truth or not,

“16 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, being exceedingly young, nevertheless being large in stature, and also having great desires to know of the mysteries of God, wherefore, I did cry unto the Lord; and behold he did visit me, and did soften my heart that I did believe all the words which had been spoken by my father; wherefore, I did not rebel against him like unto my brothers.”

I always guessed that this “visit” wasn’t always literal.  I never saw evidence of it until this week. When the prophets/sciptures say “God did visit me” It can be literal and it can mean that the spirit did visit them. In this case it was the spirit. The prophets learn the Gospel by praying and reading and serving, just as we do. They just recognize the spirit and give heed to it’s promptings more then we do.

” 17 And I spake unto Sam, making known unto him the things which the Lord had manifested unto me by his Holy Spirit. And it came to pass that he believed in my words.”

That’s all I feel the need to share this week. I hope it was beneficial and enlightening. I know that Jesus Christ is the Son of the Living God. He has visited me many times. I know that we can learn to recognize the spirit notwithstanding the fact that his voice is mild and the world’s voice is loud. God wants to visit us and guide us. Ask and ye shall recieve.
Elder Cook

This entry was posted in Elder Connor, Gyumri. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

