Zorov

March 26, 2012 – Gyumri, Week 9
Zorov

This week was what I would call “zorov” in Armenian. The Translation to the word could best be explained by an Armenian saying. “ I’m pulling the donkey out of the mud”. I felt like everything I did this week was painful. Usually I really enjoy the work. Especially when I look back on the week I feel a peace and joy in seeing how many miracles I see. It is not that I didn’t enjoy the work, rather I the people we have been working with have been in really difficult situations, so my companion and I have had to try and help them finically and physically from a spiritual aspect. It has taken a lot out of me, pondering and seeking the revelation that I need in order to teach them those things that will truly help them. It is a delicate thing talking about the physical and financial consequences of spiritual things because sometimes the Lord will give us physical and financial challenges to help us grow spiritually. But, we were able to help them. Now it is up to them to act on the truth.

That is the hardest part of missionary work, seeing people choose what they know to be the wrong. It is amazing to see the spirit work in people. When we teach we pray very hard that the spirit will teach them what they need to learn. We don’t know all of their needs, but the spirit can speak to their hearts if we speak the truth with conviction. When the spirit touches the heart the hear t is changed.

This week I heard something that was said very well, “with the spirit those things that would otherwise be a burden with it, become a delight” (F. Enzio Busche , ‘Unleashing the Dormint Spirit’). I have come to know that that is true. Some of the most difficult things that we do in life, like working, serving others, forgetting oneself, raising a family, etc are transformed into the most delightful experiences and accomplishments, through the power of Love, which can take it’s complete affect due to the Atonement and the Comforter

Today is my Birthday. I am one day older. I hope that I can become much more than a 21 year man. I hope that I can become loving brother, a wise friend and a powerful disciple of Christ.

I love you all and pray that you might be guided to learn those things which will bring you the most joy in this life and in the life to come.

Elder Cook

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Elder Connor, Gyumri. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

