Entertained Angels Unawares

November 21, 2011 – Charentsavan, Week 12
Entertained Angels Unawares

This week was amazing. This was the most successful and yet the least stressful missionary work that I have ever done. It was amazing. We gathered together as missionaries this last Thursday and had what is called a “Zone Conference”, which was largely lead and taught by President Schwitzer from the second quorum of the seventy. He is an amazing man. He is an emergency room surgeon. He really changed so much. He put everything in a different light.

One of the things that I saw in a different light, was my purpose as a missionary. I have always understood that I cannot convince anyone of truth, I do not use the Bible as I once did. Now I strive to help people receive answers to their own prayers. That is really most of what I do.

The way that President Schwitzer said it was this way, “You need to be their friend in such a way that you help bridge the relationship that they have with Christ”

I have strived ever since then to be a friend, a true friend, to everyone that I have met. It has given me power in the priesthood.  I can see the Holy Ghost working more powerfully.

I wonder how parents feel towards their children. I can only imagine how much power there is behind the prayers of a parent.

I am, to some degree, learning what the Lord meant when he said, “He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.” (Matt 10:39)

This week we had the opportunity to teach the husband of a family. Bapken (his name) is the only member of his family who has not been baptized. He has been working in Russia for the last two years in order to provide for his family. He is a very wise man and I have learned from him. He has a fire to learn like I have never seen. I have had the feeling several times that he will be a future leader in Armenia.

We had several members who have not been active for a year or more, walk into the church randomly. Then after one of our lessons with a young man named Shiraz, he called one of his friends and invited him to come learn more about the church.

We had 3 investigators who we haven’t seen for a month or so show up, wanting to learn more.

As we desire to become a friend to those we meet the Lord will send people your way, who are in need of a friend. We should always treat the person sitting next to us as a friend.  ” Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” (Hebrews 13:2) What we often don’t realize is that to God all of his children are angels. By being a friend to another we can trust that we have friends in heaven waiting to help us when we are in need.

Understanding is a result of seeing the consequences of correctly or incorrectly applied knowledge. This week I gained a clearer understanding of how doing it the Lord’s way is actually the easier way. People often look at the commandments as a set of restrictions, when in reality they are a promised blessings waiting to be given. When we do the God’s work he does our work for us, I know that because I have witnessed it time and time again. All he asks is that we trust him.  “O be awise; what can I say more?” (Jacob 6:12)

Love,
Elder Cook

This entry was posted in Charentsavan, Elder Fairclough, Zone and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Entertained Angels Unawares

  1. Richard Tetu says:

    You are right, you cannot shove beliefs at people, but praying for them to get the truth is kind and charitable. It’s the old, “You can lead a horse to water…”

  2. rosie johnson says:

    I love the freedom that trusting in the Lord gives to us! His commandment was to “love one another” or be friends! You said it beautifully Elder Cook! We are surely praying and cheering for you. Love you so, Rosie

Leave a Reply

