By Small Means Are Great Things Brought to Pass

August 8, 2011 – Ajapnyak (Davtashen), Week 3
By Small Means Are Great Things Brought to Pass

Next week I’ll write about what has happened in the last couple of weeks, there is a new group of missionaries coming in and some big changes being made.

I had a dear friend ask me a question. This question just shows how wise she is. I wish I would have my older friends and siblings the question she asked me: What piece of advice would you have given yourself while going through high school?

This is what I wrote.
I wouldn’t go through school for myself, for my graduation, my success, for my future or for preparing myself for a future career. I would have sought the  Lord’s guidance more than just to know what I should major in. I would have sought heaven’s help and I would have strived to gain many more skills, gifts and talents than just those written in a text book. I would have learned more with God’s help and the Gift of the Holy Ghost, given to all those who have been baptized into the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Remember the Savior’s words “forget yourself” Luke 9

23And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up hisacross daily, and bfollow me.

24aFor whosoever will save his life shall blose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.

25For what is a man advantaged, if he gain the whole world, and alose himself, or be cast away?

26For whosoever shall be aashamed of me and of my words, of him shall the bSon of man be ashamed, cwhen he shall come in his own glory, and in his Father’s, and of the holy angels.

It is in this process of losing ourselves that we realize how important prayers and the answers to prayers are. We realize that without speaking with God and then listening to his council life is much darker and much harder.

When we lose ourselves for Christ we have a purpose. Our purpose is to help others and to be a blessing to others not merely another person/burden. Without a purpose we will be half-hearted and we will tire easily. I wish I would have cared more about the Savior and done more of my homework with a full-purpose of heart. I wish I would have prayed for spiritual gifts(e.g. a better memory, reading fast, faster comprehension, better mathematician, etc) while doing seemingly worthless, but required tasks. We don’t know what talents the Lord would have us use later on in life, so we need to use all of the opportunities to learn, whether the opportunity seems menial or great. If we have a class that is very simple, we should seek the spirit’s help to teach us the depths of the subject. Self-mastery doesn’t just mean that we must learn complex things or do hard tasks. Self-mastery will be manifested in how we do the small and simple things. Self-mastery requires a correct perspective knowing that by small and simple means are great things brought to pass.

So how do we use the small and simple things to make great things come to pass?This is what I would say concerning school:  If we have a class that is very simple and seemingly small, pray to know how to get the most out of that class. God WILL answer your question through your thoughts, feelings and other people.

Self-mastery is when we put our whole heart into a given activity. God has given us many opportunities to be empowered through knowledge. Have fun, be grateful and most of all seek the spirit and his ability to quicken your mind and body. Be patient and realize that these gifts are bestowed our time, not all at once. This is how we can keep the commandment that the Savior gave to us, ” Look unto me in every bthoughtcdoubt not, fear not.” (Doctrine and Covenants 6:36)

It is when we use the spirit to learn that we become a light. Through the influence of the Spirit we are magnified, our capacities are expanded and we become more capable. When we see these blessings, we will not hesitate to share with our friends how we obtained these blessings. We will want to share with them our knowledge of God, the power of his priesthood. We will not hesitated to tell people that we know God has restored his power/priesthood to give us the Gift of the Holy Ghost and to help us through life’s continuous difficulties.

I know that sharing this gospel is an urgent matter. It is one that must be done with joy and can only be shared from a personal knowledge/experience. It the same power and authority that Christ gave his 12 disciples (Luke 9) that we must have today to overcome Satan’s efforts and temptations. I know that God has brought that same power and authority back to the Earth. I know that we can be baptized by Christ’s chosen representatives and that we can receive the baptism of Fire through that same power. The Gift of the Holy Ghost is a real blessing and a sign of God’s love. I pray that each of us will seek to know more about that gift, because it is only through the Gift of the Holy Ghost that we can receive Eternal Life with our families.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


1-These are some Armenian shoes that I bought recently. They are growing on me
2-This is my companion, we had a meeting that went on forever and.. well… we decided to take a few pictures.
3- This is Elder Ervine and I on Splits/Exchanges

Love Elder Cook


 

This entry was posted in Ajapnyak, Elder Anderson, Splits, Zone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

