The Happiest People Ever

July 18, 2011 – Gyumri 1 (North), Week 9
The Happiest People Ever

First things first. The watermelon here is premium. Like all of the produce it is fresh. Watermelon in Armenian is called a Summer-melon. They sell for 80-120 dram/kilo (360 dram = 1 dollar)
Second. I have been called to serve in Ajapnyak. That is a part of Yerevan City. I will be serving with Elder Anderson. I plan on learning a lot from him. I will be going south/transferring on Thursday. I am sad to be leaving the lovable people of Gyumri, but I know that Elder Watterson and Elder Peterson are going to work hard as always. They will be taking care of our area for 3 weeks, while the old group returns home and the new group comes in.
Third
My trainer, Elder Lusk is ,leaving here in about five days. I know he will live a happy life and accomplish great things at home. I’ll miss seeing him. He really taught me a tremendous amount in the 3 weeks that we served together.
I have had another amazing week. I have learned so much this week. I wish I could share it all. I hope to one day. But now I have a message that is especially for those people who have it hard. This is my message : The happiest people alive are those people who work hard, serve other people, and those who keep God’s commandments
We learn in Alma 41:10 That wickedness never was happiness. I hope that no-one takes this offensively but I have come to learn that these are the synonyms for “wickedness”
selfishness, anger, frustration, despair, laziness, gluttony, usurpation, coarseness, stubbornness, lack of desire to change, atheism.
These things are what bring us temporary satisfaction and seem to feel good for a moment, but when all is said and done these are the things that separate us from what we love most.
God did not give us commandments to restrict us, but to free us from pain and sorrow and confusion. He gave us the path to the tree of life, the golden city, the eternal family, the happiest home and the most successful life. God will only bless us for doing good and avoiding evil.
I see too much of Satan, I fight him every day and now I seek to raise a banner of hope and warning that you are being tempted, so learn of the Savior and he will deliver you.
“I would that ye should remember, that as much as ye shall put your atrust in God even so much ye shall be bdelivered out of your trials, and your ctroubles, and your afflictions, and ye shall be lifted up at the last day. ” (Alma 38:5) We learn to put our trust in God by praying and reading his word and listening to his servants on the earth today.
Please don’t deny yourselves of the tree of life, the golden city, the eternal family, the happiest home and the most successful life. Learn what God expects of you and do it with a smile. I know that God will give you the strength to face your trials but that strength will come as we show our trust.
I put together a small slide show. It was originally designed to wish my parents happy birthday but I’d like to share it with all of you.

Happy Birthday Mom and Dad!

I love you all,
Elder Cook

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


1) Elder Lusk and I
2) A Stronghold from Armenia’s Ancient days. I wish I could remember how old it was, It was used in the days of the Armenian Holocaust
3) The happiest people Alive: Missionaries
4)The most free people alive: Missionaries
5) The party animals: missionaries
6)The most patriotic people alive: Missionaries
7) The craziest people alive : Missionaries
8)The most creative people alive : Missionaries
9) And this is just a picture with Elder Cook… and a rock… laying on the ground having too much fun.

The End

 

This entry was posted in Gyumri 1 (North). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

