The Food

July 5, 2011 – Gyumri 1 (North), Week 7
The Food

So this week we had 3 of our sister missionaries go home. In about 2 weeks my trainer and 3 other elders will go home. The mission is primary made up of missionaries who have been serving for a year or less.

I have been sharing with you spiritual thoughts and things like that, but I think that today I will talk about the food.

368 dram = 1 USD
37dram = 10 cents
It’s good. It’s dirty. The water supply gave one of the missionaries who thought he could drink it straight kidney problems.

The apricots are fast coming and fast going.  Hasats(Armenian for “ripe”) apricots sell for 350-450 dram a kilo (2.2 pounds).
Tomatoes 300dram/kilo
Cucumbers 130-150dram/ kilo
squash   50-80dram/kilo
apples 1400 dram/kilo
oranges 800dram/kilo
banana 900dram/kilo
greens (basil, thyme cilantro) 50 dram/bunch
onions 250dram/kilo
cherries 600 dram/kilo
Cabbage 30-70dram/kilo
sugar 350 dram/kilo
flour 350-600 dram/kilo
Loaf of bread 100-160 dram

There is a man from Glendale, CA who worked at Pizza hut. He sells pizza here in Armenia, American style. The missionaries love him.

I’ll take some pictures of the fruits stands, store, and food here. I’ll send them next week.

The packaged food get pretty expensive, Oatmeal is 1800dram/kilo.
They have Fanta, Sprite, Coca Cola, Pepsi and tons of other brands. (I don’t like it, but it’s not my choice)
They have a lot of brand name items, but I’m not going to talk about those.

That’s about it.

I would like to share just one thought. I have shared it before, but I feel that I should share it again.
Helaman 12:3
And thus we see that except the Lord doth achasten his people with many afflictions, yea, except he doth visit them with bdeath and with terror, and with famine and with all manner of pestilence, they will not cremember him.

If our work or family, or friends or anything else is preventing us from keeping one of God’s commandments, we need to realize that God told us from the beginning “Ye shall have no other gods before me.” Is my work, school, friend “my” god? If so I would warn you that life will only get harder as you continue to place him lower on your list of priorities.

If you are having a hard time in life, do not lose your hope. The devil teaches a man that he must not hope. Our Loving Heavenly Father has given us every source of hope possible, prayer, His words (spoken by modern-day prophets and written as our scriptures), family, and friends. Our hope is rooted in this truth: the Lord has all-power and He will keep His promises.

But if you are not receiving those blessings or the help from heaven that you would like, evaluate. Am I continuing to learn and keep God’s Commandments? Am I remembering the Lord in all things? Is this trial a reminder that I need to keep God my number one priority?

With Love,
Elder Cook

This entry was posted in Gyumri, Gyumri 1 (North). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

