Real Treasures

July 11, 2011 – Gyumri 1 (North), Week 8
Real Treasures

The other day I was walking with one of our members. It was a hard day. I don’t usually get down when people swear, laugh, spit or yell at me, but today I was sad that the people I interacted with that day took no thought to secure their salvation. We are all seeking for treasure but we too easily forget where the real treasures lie.
Christ said in Matthew and 3 Nephi 13:
19Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where amoth and rust doth corrupt, and thieves break through and steal;

20But lay up for yourselves atreasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal.

21For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

It made me sad that even the member of Christ’s church were laying up treasures where moth and rust doth corrupt. They are focused on the things which last but for a moment, only to be forgotten and desired again. We cannot forget that Satan has won if we aren’t on target. The word for “sin” in Greek is translated as the same word that means “miss the mark”. If we are seeking good things but not the things that God wants us to be seeking we have missed the mark. We have sinned. Too many people think that if they keep the Ten Commandments they are saved, but I testify that Christ requires more from us than to keep a few commandments. He requires that we serve and learn how He lived. Christ asked “What matter of men [and women] ought ye to be? Even as I am”

While we were walking home that very same day the spirit whispered to my thoughts “forget yourself”, so I began to look at my surroundings, almost everything was bleak (this city is still recovering from an earthquake about 7 years ago) but there were yellow roses and then I remember when I talked to a friend about what it means to “stop and smell the roses”. I felt in that moment God’s love. I marveled that our God created that rose just for me. He wanted me to experience the joy that comes from that simple, but complex beauty. He created that rose so that every person who decided to stop and smell that rose could feel His love. I saw a fraction of God’s infinite love. God created this earth that it might be inhabited, and He hath created His children that they should possess it and enjoy it (1 Nephi 17:36).

I testify of the divinity of Christ and His unmatchable love. He is truly our Mediator. He has satisfied and paid the price of sin. If we accept His mercy we can be relieved of the burden of sin and weakness.

Elder Cook

1)This is me falling as I tried to fix our light
2) This is me in President Carter (Mission President) apricot tree
3) Crowded in a Taxi on our way home( left to right )Elder Hall, Gerber, Lush, Cook

This entry was posted in Gyumri 1 (North). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

