I Will Make Thy Food Become Sweet

April 18, 2011

12For the Lord had not hitherto suffered that we should make much fire, as we journeyed in the wilderness; for he said: I will make thy food become sweet, that ye acook it not;
13And I will also be your light in the wilderness; and I will prepare the way before you, if it so be that ye shall keep my commandments; wherefore, inasmuch as ye shall keep my commandments ye shall be led towards the promised land; and ye shall know that it is by me that ye are led.
I feel a need to speak of the power of prayer. Prayer is to strengthen us. It was designed to provide us with a means whereby we can obtain blessings that cannot be found any other way. Prayer is the means by which we build a relationship with our Father in Heaven. Our relationship with our Loving Heavenly Father increases every time we pray with sincerity and faith. We must not however pray for that which is contrayery to God’s will. We can but it will be in vain. I would like to share one suggestion that has benifited me, especially this last week. Pray for help to endure life’s difficulty with joy. If we pray for one difficulty to disappear, naturally life will present a different trial. So rather than pass from one drainning problem to another we should pray to learn from our current situation. Silver is refined in many ways and by several methods. One of them is heat/fire. Might I suggest that we ask a couple of introspective questions.
What is today’s refiner’s fire?
What perspective do I need to endure it?
What do I need to become before the fire cools down?
The blessings will be greater than this burden if I rely on Jesus Christ. What will be the benifits?
Will I endure it with sadness and self-centered thoughts or will I smile and seek to change the lives of those around me?
 Am I regretting the very thing that helping me put on the true nature of Christ?
Am I praying for this trial to go away or am I praying for strength, happiness and the knowledge to endure?
I have found that we can do many things to endure our separate refiners’ fires, but the best thing that we can do is find perspective.
2 Nephi 32:3-5
3 Wherefore, I said unto you, feast upon the words of Christ; for behold, the words of Christ will tell you all things what ye should do.
4Wherefore, now after I have spoken these words, if ye cannot understand them it will be because ye ask not, neither do ye knock; wherefore, ye are not brought into the light, but must perish in the dark.
5For behold, again I say unto you that if ye will enter in by the way, and receive the Holy Ghost, it will ashow unto you all things what ye should do.
If we are not feasting upon the words (in other words studying and pondering) of Christ how can we follow his perfect example? The answer is we cannot. So I pray and plead with you Read, Ponder and Pray that you might have the faith in Christ to trust him when he says, “And I will also be your alight in the wilderness; and I will prepare the way before you, if it so be that ye shall keep my commandments; wherefore, inasmuch as ye shall keep my commandments ye shall be led towards the promised land; and ye shall know that it is by me that ye are led.”
I know that Christ lives he knows us personally and he would have suffered in Gethsemane for just one of us. I don’t know what it means to take upon you the sins of the world, but I know this much that he did it. He died so that we might repent, be clean, and stand before God at the Last day ready to be received by his opened arms. That is my wish for all of us that we might see eachother in the life after this.
With Love,
Elder Cook

This entry was posted in Ashtarak and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

