Ashtarak – Week 2 – Miracles

Ashtarak, Armenia December 13, 2010

Josh at the Armenian Genocide Memorial with his Mentor Elder Lusk

So I wrote you on my 2nd day in the country. It’s been about 9 now. I have grown a lot. I can gained an ear for letters and words. I am learning slow and steadily little by little “kaum-ats kaum-ats” is how they say it here.

So I would like to first make some comments on the weather, the people and some thoughts that came to me yesterday.

First of all thank you for your emails (I can receive emails now, due to he mailing system).
Second of all, It’s cold. No snow. Just cold and very dreary. But the weather doesn’t affect our attitude.
LAst of all, it never ceases to amaze me how much the Lord works along my companion and I. In Doctrine and Covenants 84: 88 And whoso areceiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go bbefore your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my cSpirit shall be in your hearts, and mine dangels round about you, to bear you up.
Within 3 days of being in the Country the Lord literally put  one individual in front of us and softened the heart another. So our teaching pool went from 1 progressing investigator to 3. The third day I met an awesome man named Aram. He is sincere. He has great desires to know God and his mysteries, or in other words his works. He brought with him a friend, named Gogore. He just heard about Aram’s meetings with us and decided to come. So he joined Aram. Gogore was taught by my Teacher brother Dixon 2+ years ago, but had to move up to Russia for work. However Gogore remembers the feelings that he had when he was listening to our message. Gogore said I want to get baptized. Elder Lusk and I were amazed and humbled at such a rare event. We couldn’t help blame God for such a miracle.  So during that lesson with Aram, we asked him if he had read and prayed about the Book of Mormon. He said yes. we asked “Did you get an answer”. He said yes, ” God told me that I just needed to stop talking and listen”  Again we were amazed, that God was working so closely with us. This was amazing because we were praying that he would be able to receive the answers to His questions. See he lives with his parents (every does until their parents pass away) His mom is a Jehovah’s Witness. She uses the Bible to try to negate things that we teach, so Aram always has a lot of questions. Don’t get me wrong questions are good. We want people who study it out in their mind and who know what they are getting into, but when questions begin to numb our ability to feel truth and recognize patterns we don’t rely on our direct connection with all truth, God.  I admire Aram for having the faith to receive an answer and for being ready to listen to such specific direction. These people are very spiritually inclined.

The other man is Karo, He is a great father of 5(3 of which have passed away) He is the only one in his family who is not a member. The Lord is really revealing his hand and performing many miracles. I’ll tell you about him next week.I’ve got to go but next week I’ll explain something I learned from Karo last night. It is the patterns that are recognized only through the eyes of  gratitude.

I’d like to say this. I wish I had more time for more, but I feel that this  is what I need to say.
I am a representative of Jesus Christ.therefore I am a teacher of truth and an aid for wounded souls. I do not prove truth, I profess it and I teach others how they can develop a relationship with God. I help others develop a sure line of communication with the source of all Truth. I would ask anyone who reads this to ask God something today, when it is quite and when you can think and when you can feel. Ask God if he loves you? If you already know it ask him what you need to do to feel that love? Then do it. I promise you that if you will ask God that question and do what you are directed to you will feel an external power that will make you happy, for no apparent reason. But when you feel that power you can know that he lives and loves you and knows you by your first and your last name. Jesus Christ lives and he overcame the world. I have wondered “Was Christ just a great, wise man, who could perform miracles by his own means?” I have received my answer, No he was not just a wise man, he really is a Son of God. He died for us and I have felt the effects of that great act of love. I am here to tell you that I do not know this from any other source than God himself, and that you too can know of His reality.

I love you More importantly God loves you. I know this

Love Elder Cook

Week 13 Ashtarak

This entry was posted in Ashtarak, Elder Lusk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

