Week 6 – A Matter of Motives

From: Joshua Cook <cookj@myldsmail.net>
Date: Thu, Oct 28, 2010 at 10:07 AM
Subject: A Matter of Motives – MTC – Week 6(or 7)

I cannot tell you how much I am loving it here. Not necessarily because I love the food or my bed but the people, the experience, the purpose and the spirit. I have come to realize how eternal every spiritual experience is. Each experience changes us a little. Every experience shapes us into something much more than I think we realize.

This week I recieved a sweet nerf, bedroom basketball hoop in a package from natalie along with a gold pen from rex and some great letters. Thank you for all the wonderful things. We had an epic bedroom basketball game last night. 2 on 2. ESPN worthy footage (we recorded it). My companions are great. The District is great. We continue to compliment eachother in word and in deed. We are a perfect seven with complimetning gifts and talents.

Last night we taught at the TRC(Training Rescource Center). My companionship taught with a wonderful sister from Armenia and Spain. She grew up in Armenia for 10 years, learned russian in school and moved to spain for 10-15years. She knows 6 languages.

It was great. In 6-7 weeks we can teach about christ’s gospel in Armenian. It is very excitign. This week we heard a great talk from Elder Scott. Who did not really teach himself, Teh spirit taught us through him. IOne of the most spiritual experiences I’ve ever had. He would stop in mid sentance and listen, focus and say “No, I meant to say this instead.” he was guided completely it was amazing to see how the spirit can work so miraculosuly. (He also gave us a copy of his talk. I’ll send home a copy, it’s not copywritten from family).

I would like to share an idea that has changed me and that will continue to change my life. I hope that it can change your as well. We “become” as a result of what we do. If we want to become like the savior we do what he did. But there is more to “becoming” than just doing. Becoming is largely, if not mostly, a matter of motives. We can decide to serve someone because we are seeking fame, or we might serve someone because we want to feel that “good feeling ” that follows service. One is bad, one is Good but niether are a sign of a pure heart. The purest motive we can have is Love for God and then Love for our fellow man (In that order).

The Savior said in Matt 22, “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt alove the Lord thy God with all thy bheartand with all thy soul, andwith all thy cmind.

38 This is the first and great acommandment.

39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt alove thy neighbour as thyself. Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt alove the Lord thy God with all thy bheartand with all thy soul, and with all thy cmind.

38 This is the first and great acommandment.

39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt alove thy neighbour as thyself.

When we make our first motive our love for God we change the outcome of our pursuits. Not only do we become better and more like the savior as he has commanded (3 Nephi 12:48), but we recieve heaven’s help. Our pursuits are no longer dependant upon our own abilities, we receive the enabling power and strength from God (more specifically through grace)

I have see this work. I know that when my motives are in the savior, when I “sacrifice” my own desires the Lord blesses me in the best ways possible. I notice the difference in how much I learn. I can retain more and learn more quickly with the spirit when my motives are pure. It is the different between learning 45 words and remembering them all the next day and learning 18 words and only remembering 70% of them. The Lord can help us, let’s show him that we want that help.

The Savior was the perfect example of pure motives. His life was a masterpiece painted with a pure heart with pure love. Everything he did was a preparation for than final day. I know this. I have felt that love. I know that if we will seek to change our bad and our good motives into the best motive we will be empowered to greater things than we ever thought were possible.

I would ask anyone who reads this to experiment on this truth. Think of one of you bad, or even good motives then change that motive to the best motive( Love of God and his Children). Then observe how you will become happier, how you will desrie to serve more and how you will becoem successful.

I love you

Elder Cook

This entry was posted in MTC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

